Culture & Entertainment

Museums in South Africa

A guide to the major museums of South Africa.

Museums in South Africa

By Expatica

Updated 16-1-2024

Over 300 of around 1000 museums in Africa are located in South Africa.  The government helps fund them although they act autonomously. Check out our list of South African museums below:

Iziko Museums of Cape Town (Southern Flagship Institutions)

Afrikaans Language Museum – Paarl
Albany Museum – Grahamstown
Anglo-Boer War/South African War Museum – Bloemfontein
Apartheid Museum – Johannesburg
District Six Museum – Cape Town
Freedom Park – Pretoria
Gold of Africa Museum – Cape Town
Geology Education Museum (The) – Durban
Hector Petersen Museum – Johannesburg
Kleinplasie Living Open Air Museum – Cape Town
Lydenburg Museum – Mpumalanga
Ladysmith Siege Museum – Ladysmith
McGregor Museum – Kimberley
Marie Rawdon Museum – Cape Town
Melrose House – Pretoria
Natal Museum – Pietermaritzburg
National Museum – Bloemfontein
Nasionale Afrikaanse Letterkundige Museum en Navavorsingsentrum (NALN) – Bloemfontein
Nelson Mandela Museum – Umtata
Open Mine, Kimberley Mine Museum (The) (The Big Hole) – Kimberley

South African Air Force Museum (SAAF) – Pretoria & Cape Town
South African National Railway and Steam Museum – Johannesburg
Stellenbosch Village Museum – Cape Town
Talana Museum – Dundee
Port Elizabeth Museum Complex – Humewood, Port Elizabeth
Robben Island Museum – Cape Town
Roodepoort Museum – Roodepoort
William Humphreys Art Gallery – Kimberley