Holidays & Celebrations

Public holidays in Luxembourg: important dates in 2024 and 2025

Ready for a break? Here are Luxembourg’s public holidays in 2024 and 2025, as well as other important dates to make a note of.

An orchestra parades through the streets to celebrate Luxembourg's National Day
writer

Updated 16-5-2024

Whether you’re living Luxembourg or just visiting, it’s important to note these important local public holidays (un jour férié/gesetzliche Feiertage/Feierdag) as many businesses typically close. What’s more, they’re a perfect opportunity to immerse yourself in the country’s traditions.

To ensure you don’t miss out on anything important, make note of these essential celebrations in Luxembourg:

Luxembourgish public holidays: an overview

There are 13 official Luxembourg bank holidays throughout the year. These are:

  • New Year’s Day
  • Good Friday
  • Easter Monday
  • Mayday
  • Europe Day
  • Ascension Day
  • Whit Monday
  • Luxembourg National Day
  • Assumption
  • All Saints Day
  • Christmas Eve (half-day)
  • Christmas Day
  • St Stephen’s Day (Saint-Étienne)

Additionally, there are other festivities around the country which are unofficial holidays, such as Carnival Monday, Kermesse, and the Annual Summer Fair.

A couple wearing winter jackets share a look at Luxembourg City's Christmas market
Photo: Gabriel Mello/Getty Images

When local public holidays fall on a Thursday or Tuesday, many employees will take the preceding or following day off to enjoy a long weekend. Additionally observances that fall on a Sunday are usually celebrated on the following Monday.

If a public holiday falls on a weekend, employers must, by law, grant employees a compensatory day off within three months.

You can also see which of Luxembourg’s festivals fall on the public holidays, as it’s a great way to explore the country and sample local food.

Here are the Luxembourgish holidays to look out for in 2024 and 2025, as well as some other special dates you wouldn’t want to forget:

Public holidays in Luxembourg in 2024

DatePublic holiday
1 January (Monday)New Year’s Day
29 March (Friday)Good Friday
1 April (Monday)Easter Monday
1 May (Wednesday)May Day (Labor Day)
9 May (Thursday)Europe Day
9 May (Thursday)Ascension Day (same day as Europe Day in 2024)
20 May (Monday)Whit Monday
23 June (Sunday)National Day (Grand Duke’s Birthday)
15 August (Thursday)Assumption Day
1 November (Friday)All Saints’ Day
24 December (Tuesday)Christmas Eve half-day bank holiday
25 December (Wednesday)Christmas Day
26 December (Thursday)St Stephen’s Day (Saint-Étienne)

Important dates in Luxembourg in 2024

DateImportant occasion
31 March (Sunday)Clocks go forward one hour as daylight saving time starts
9 June (Sunday)Mother’s Day
2 September (Monday)Luxembourg City Kermesse
6 October (Sunday)Father’s Day
27 October (Sunday)Clocks go back one hour as daylight saving time ends

Public holidays in Luxembourg in 2025

DatePublic holiday
1 January (Wednesday)New Year’s Day
18 April (Friday)Good Friday
20 April (Monday)Easter Monday
1 May (Thursday)May Day (Labor Day)
9 May (Friday)Europe Day
29 May (Thursday)Ascension Day
9 June (Monday)Whit Monday
23 June (Monday)National Day (Grand Duke’s Birthday)
15 August (Friday)Assumption Day
1 November (Saturday)All Saints’ Day
24 December (Wednesday)Christmas Eve half-day bank holiday
25 December (Thursday)Christmas Day
26 December (Friday)St Stephen’s Day (Saint-Étienne)

Important dates in Luxembourg in 2025

DateImportant occasion
30 March (Sunday)Clocks go forward one hour as daylight saving time starts
1 September (Monday)Luxembourg City Kermesse
8 June (Sunday)Mother’s Day
5 October (Sunday)Father’s Day
26 October (Sunday)Clocks go back one hour as daylight saving time ends

Luxembourg school holidays

Many days off for students fall in line with the country’s public observances. Wondering when they are? Read more about school holidays in Luxembourg to start making plans with your family.