Help the refugees

If you move around the world by choice, consider helping those forced from their homes by conflict. Donate to the UN Refugee Agency today.

Home Lifestyle Holidays & Celebrations Public holidays in Portugal: important dates in 2022 and 2023
Last update on 29/06/2022

Whether you are living in Portugal or just visiting, it’s important to note the dates of Portuguese public holidays.

So that you don’t miss out on anything important, here is a list of Portugal’s public holidays and dates for your calendar.

A guide to Portuguese public holidays

As a very Catholic country, most public holidays in Portugal are (at least in name) religious; many include festivals and parades honoring a saint or a bible story, while others include Christian holidays such as Christmas. Both tourists and expats should take note of Portugal’s public holidays (feriado public). This is because most shops typically close for the whole day, even in big cities. Furthermore, public transport and other services reduce their schedules.

A carnival procession in Funchal, Portugal
Carnaval in Funchal, Portugal

Many of Portugal’s bank holidays are national, although some are only celebrated in certain regions. Unlike many other countries, holidays in Portugal are observed on the day they fall. As a result, if a national holiday falls on a Sunday, then it is not taken on the next Monday. In addition, several Portuguese festivals are not deemed official holidays, such as Carnival (Carnaval) on Shrove Tuesday.

Below is a full list of when the main Portuguese holidays occur in 2022 and 2023; including days off and school holidays. You can also make sure you mark them on your calendar.

Portuguese public holidays during 2022

  • 1 January (Saturday): New Year’s Day (Ano Novo)
  • 15 April (Friday): Good Friday (Sexta-feira Santa)
  • 17 April (Sunday): Easter Sunday
  • 25 April (Monday): Freedom Day (Dia da Liberdade)
  • 1 May (Sunday): Labor Day (Dia do Trabalhador)
  • 10 June (Friday): Portugal National Day (Dia de Portugal)
  • 16 June (Thursday): Corpus Christi (Corpo de Deus)
  • 15 August (Monday): Assumption of Mary (Assunção de Nossa Senhora)
  • 5 October (Wednesday): Republic Day (Implantação da República)
  • 1 November (Tuesday): All Saints’ Day (Todos os Santos)
  • 1 December (Thursday): Restoration of Independence Day (Restauração da Independência)
  • 8 December (Thursday): Immaculate Conception (Imaculada Conceição)
  • 25 December (Sunday): Christmas Day (Natal)

Local holidays in Portugal during 2022

This list includes many of Portugal’s local holidays, but bear in mind that there are several others not included. Therefore, check with your municipality to find out concrete dates.

  • 15 January (Saturday): Municipal holiday in Santa Cruz
  • 22 January (Saturday): Municipal holiday in Sao Vicente
  • 19 March (Sunday): Saint Joseph’s Day (Santarem)
  • 11 April (Monday): Municipal holiday in Lagoa
  • 20 April (Wednesday): Our Lady of Mercoles (Castelo Branco)
  • 23 April (Saturday): Saint George’s Day (Velas)
  • 12 May (Thursday): St Joana’s Day (Aveiro)
  • 13 May (Friday): Ascension Day (Beja)
  • 22 May (Sunday): Leira Day (Leira)
  • 23 May (Monday): Portalegre Day (Portalegre)
  • 24 May (Tuesday): Azores Day (Azores)
  • 13 June (Monday): Saint Anthony’s Day (in Lisbon only, however)
  • 24 June (Friday): Saint John’s Day (Porto, Braga, Figueira da Foz, as well as Almada)
  • 29 June (Wednesday): Saint Peter’s Day (Evora)
  • 4 July (Monday): Saint Elizabeth’s Day (Coimbra)
  • 18 July (Monday): Municipal holiday in Nordeste
  • 22 July (Friday): Municipal holiday in Porto Moniz as well as Madalena
  • 11 August (Thursday): Municipal holiday (Praia da Vitoria)
  • 20 August (Saturday): Our Lady of Sorrows (Viana do Castelo)
  • 22 August (Monday): Our Lady of Graces (Braganca)
  • 21 August (Sunday): Funchal City Day
  • 2 September (Friday): Municipal holiday (Povoacao)
  • 7 September (Wednesday): Faro Day
  • 15 September (Thursday): Birth of Bocage (Setubal)
  • 21 September (Wednesday): Saint Matthew’s Day (Viceu as well as also Elvas)
  • 4 October (Tuesday): Municipal holiday in Camara de Lobos
  • 9 October (Sunday): Municipal holiday in Machico
  • 25 November (Friday): Saint Catherine’s Day (Calheta)
  • 27 November (Sunday): Foral of Sancho I (Guarda)

Important dates in Portugal during 2022

  • 1 March (Tuesday): Shrove Tuesday, also known as Mardi Gras or Carnival (Carnaval)
  • 19 March (Saturday): Father’s Day
  • 27 March (Sunday): Clocks go forward one hour as a result of daylight saving time starting
  • 1 May (Sunday): Mother’s Day
  • 30 October (Sunday): Clocks go back one hour as a result of daylight saving time ending

Portuguese public holidays during 2023

  • 1 January (Sunday): New Year’s Day (Ano Novo)
  • 7 April (Friday): Good Friday (Sexta-feira Santa)
  • 9 April (Sunday): Easter Sunday
  • 25 April (Tuesday): Freedom Day (Dia da Liberdade)
  • 1 May (Monday): Labor Day (Dia do Trabalhador)
  • 8 June (Thursday): Corpus Christi (Corpo de Deus)
  • 10 June (Saturday): Portugal National Day (Dia de Portugal)
  • 15 August (Tuesday): Assumption of Mary (Assunção de Nossa Senhora)
  • 5 October (Thursday): Republic Day (Implantação da República)
  • 1 November (Wednesday): All Saints’ Day (Todos os Santos)
  • 1 December (Friday): Restoration of Independence Day (Restauração da Independência)
  • 8 December (Friday): Immaculate Conception (Imaculada Conceição)
  • 25 December (Monday): Christmas Day (Natal)

Local holidays in Portugal during 2022

This list includes many of Portugal’s local holidays, but bear in mind that there are several others not included. Therefore, check with your municipality to find out concrete dates.

  • 15 January (Sunday): Municipal holiday in Santa Cruz
  • 20 January (Friday): Municipal holiday in Santa Maria da Feira, Aveiro
  • 22 January (Sunday): Municipal holiday in Sao Vicente
  • 18 February (Saturday): Municipal holiday in Valença
  • 19 March (Sunday): Saint Joseph’s Day (Santarem)
  • 23 April (Sunday): Saint George’s Day (Velas)
  • 18 May (Thursday): Ascension Day (celebrated in several areas)
  • 22 May (Monday): Leira Day (Leira)
  • 23 May (Tuesday): Portalegre Day (Portalegre)
  • 24 May (Wednesday): Azores Day (Azores)
  • 25 May (Thursday): Municipal holiday in Santana
  • 13 June (Monday): Saint Anthony’s Day (in Lisbon only)
  • 20 June (Tuesday): Municipal holiday in Corvo
  • 24 June (Saturday): Saint John’s Day (celebrated in numerous cities)
  • 29 June (Thursday): Saint Peter’s Day (celebrated in numerous cities)
  • 4 July (Tuesday): Saint Elizabeth’s Day (Coimbra)
  • 18 July (Tuesday): Municipal holiday in Nordeste
  • 11 August (Friday): Municipal holiday (Praia da Vitoria)
  • 20 August (Sunday): Our Lady of Sorrows (Viana do Castelo)
  • 21 August (Sunday): Funchal City Day
  • 7 September (Thursday): Faro Day
  • 15 September (Friday): Birth of Bocage (Setubal)
  • 21 September (Thursday): Saint Matthew’s Day (Viceu as well as Elvas)
  • 9 October (Monday): Municipal holiday in Machico
  • 25 November (Saturday): Saint Catherine’s Day (Calheta)
  • 27 November (Monday): Foral of Sancho I (Guarda)

Important dates in Portugal during 2023

  • 21 February (Tuesday): Shrove Tuesday, also known as Mardi Gras or Carnival (Carnaval)
  • 19 March (Sunday): Father’s Day
  • 26 March (Sunday): Clocks go forward one hour as a result of daylight saving time starting
  • 7 May (Sunday): Mother’s Day
  • 29 October (Sunday): Clocks go back one hour as a result of daylight saving time ending

School holidays in Portugal

As well as Portugal’s national public holidays, Portuguese schools (including the international schools) have their own holiday times. Some of these school breaks overlap with Portugal’s local public holidays; however, this is not always the case. If you want to know more about school term times, you can also see our guide to school holidays in Portugal.