Home Lifestyle Holidays & Celebrations Public holidays in Portugal: important dates in 2021 and 2022
Last update on February 05, 2021

Whether you are living in Portugal or just visiting, it’s important to note the dates of Portuguese public holidays as many businesses typically close as a result.

To ensure you don’t miss out on anything important, here is a list of Portugal’s public holidays and especially important dates for your calendar.

A guide to Portuguese public holidays

As an intensely Catholic country, a large number of the public holidays in Portugal are (at least in name) religious; many include festivals and parades commemorating a saint or a biblical story, while others include the globally-observed Christian holidays such as Christmas. Both tourists and expats alike should take note of Portugal’s public holidays (feriado public). One of the key reasons for this is because most shops typically close for the whole day, even in the bigger cities in Portugal. Furthermore, many services such as public transport run at a reduced schedule.

Festivals in Portugal: Carnival
Carnaval

Many of Portugal’s bank holidays are national, although some are only celebrated in certain regions. Unlike many other countries, holidays in Portugal are observed on the day on which they fall. As a result, if a national holiday falls on a Sunday, then it is not taken on the next Monday. Additionally, there are widely celebrated Portuguese festivals, which are not deemed official holidays by the state; such as Carnival (Carnaval) on Shrove Tuesday.

Below is a full list of when the main Portuguese holidays occur in 2021 and 2022; including days off such as bank holidays and Portugal’s school holidays. You can also make sure you mark them on your calendar.

Portuguese public holidays during 2021

Portugal’s lengthy list of public holidays is full of days commemorating important historical events, Catholic figures, as well as labor movements. The main public holidays in Portugal during 2021 are the following:

  • 1 January (Friday): New Year’s Day (Ano Novo)
  • 2 April (Friday): Good Friday (Sexta-feira Santa)
  • 4 April (Sunday): Easter Sunday
  • 25 April (Sunday): Freedom Day (Dia da Liberdade)
  • 1 May (Saturday): Labor Day (Dia do Trabalhador)
  • 3 June (Thursday): Corpus Christi (Corpo de Deus)
  • 10 June (Thursday): Portugal National Day (Dia de Portugal)
  • 15 August (Sunday): Assumption of Mary (Assunção de Nossa Senhora)
  • 5 October (Tuesday): Republic Day (Implantação da República)
  • 1 November (Monday): All Saints’ Day (Todos os Santos)
  • 1 December (Wednesday): Restoration of Independence Day (Restauração da Independência)
  • 8 December (Wednesday): Immaculate Conception (Imaculada Conceição)
  • 25 December (Saturday): Christmas Day (Natal)

Local holidays in Portugal during 2021

In addition to the Portuguese public holidays, many cities and regions have their own local holidays as well. Many are designated municipal days, while others honor the local patron saint of a city. Portugal’s local holidays during 2021 are the following:

  • 15 January (Friday): Municipal holiday in Santa Cruz
  • 22 January (Friday): Municipal holiday in Sao Vicente
  • 19 March (Friday): Saint Joseph’s Day (Santarem)
  • 11 April (Sunday): Municipal holiday in Lagoa
  • 20 April (Tuesday): Our Lady of Mercoles (Castelo Branco)
  • 23 April (Friday): Saint George’s Day (Velas)
  • 12 May (Wednesday): Saint Joana’s Day (Aveiro)
  • 13 May (Thursday): Ascension Day (Beja)
  • 22 May (Saturday): Leira Day (Leira)
  • 23 May (Sunday): Portalegre Day (Portalegre)
  • 24 May (Monday): Azores Day (Azores)
  • 13 June (Sunday): Saint Anthony’s Day (Lisbon)
  • 24 June (Thursday): Saint John’s Day (Porto, Braga, Figueira da Foz, as well as Almada)
  • 29 June (Tuesday): Saint Peter’s Day (Evora)
  • 4 July (Sunday): Saint Elizabeth’s Day (Coimbra)
  • 15 July (Thursday): Municipal holiday in Lajes das Flores
  • 18 July (Sunday): Municipal holiday in Nordeste
  • 22 July (Thursday): Municipal holiday in both Porto Moniz as well as Madalena
  • 11 August (Wednesday): Municipal holiday in Praia da Vitoria
  • 16 August (Monday): Municipal holiday in Sao Roque do Pico
  • 20 August (Friday): Our Lady of Sorrows (Viana do Castelo)
  • 22 August (Sunday): Our Lady of Graces (Braganca)
  • 21 August (Saturday): Funchal City Day
  • 2 September (Thursday): Municipal holiday in Povoacao
  • 7 September (Tuesday): Faro Day
  • 15 September (Wednesday): Birth of Bocage (Setubal)
  • 21 September (Tuesday): Saint Matthew’s Day (Viceu and also Elvas)
  • 4 October (Monday): Municipal holiday in Camara de Lobos
  • 9 October (Saturday): Municipal holiday in Machico
  • 25 November (Thursday): Saint Catherine’s Day (Calheta)
  • 27 November (Saturday): Foral of Sancho I (Guarda)

Important dates in Portugal during 2021

  • 16 February (Tuesday): Shrove Tuesday, also referred to as Mardi Gras or Carnival (Carnaval)
  • 19 March (Friday): Father’s Day
  • 28 March (Sunday): Clocks go forward one hour when daylight saving time starts
  • 2 May (Sunday): Mother’s Day
  • 31 October (Sunday): Clocks go back one hour as a result of daylight saving time ending

Portuguese public holidays during 2022

  • 1 January (Saturday): New Year’s Day (Ano Novo)
  • 15 April (Friday): Good Friday (Sexta-feira Santa)
  • 17 April (Sunday): Easter Sunday
  • 25 April (Monday): Freedom Day (Dia da Liberdade)
  • 1 May (Sunday): Labor Day (Dia do Trabalhador)
  • 10 June (Friday): Portugal National Day (Dia de Portugal)
  • 16 June (Thursday): Corpus Christi (Corpo de Deus)
  • 15 August (Monday): Assumption of Mary (Assunção de Nossa Senhora)
  • 5 October (Wednesday): Republic Day (Implantação da República)
  • 1 November (Tuesday): All Saints’ Day (Todos os Santos)
  • 1 December (Thursday): Restoration of Independence Day (Restauração da Independência)
  • 8 December (Thursday): Immaculate Conception (Imaculada Conceição)
  • 25 December (Sunday): Christmas Day (Natal)

Local holidays in Portugal during 2022

  • 15 January (Saturday): Municipal holiday in Santa Cruz
  • 22 January (Saturday): Municipal holiday in Sao Vicente
  • 19 March (Sunday): Saint Joseph’s Day (Santarem)
  • 11 April (Monday): Municipal holiday in Lagoa
  • 20 April (Wednesday): Our Lady of Mercoles (Castelo Branco)
  • 23 April (Saturday): Saint George’s Day (Velas)
  • 12 May (Thursday): St Joana’s Day (Aveiro)
  • 13 May (Friday): Ascension Day (Beja)
  • 22 May (Sunday): Leira Day (Leira)
  • 23 May (Monday): Portalegre Day (Portalegre)
  • 24 May (Tuesday): Azores Day (Azores)
  • 13 June (Monday): Saint Anthony’s Day (in Lisbon only, however)
  • 24 June (Friday): Saint John’s Day (Porto, Braga, Figueira da Foz, as well as Almada)
  • 29 June (Wednesday): Saint Peter’s Day (Evora)
  • 4 July (Monday): Saint Elizabeth’s Day (Coimbra)
  • 15 July (Friday): Municipal holiday in Lajes das Flores
  • 18 July (Monday): Municipal holiday in Nordeste
  • 22 July (Friday): Municipal holiday in Porto Moniz as well as Madalena
  • 11 August (Thursday): Municipal holiday (Praia da Vitoria)
  • 16 August (Tuesday): Municipal holiday (Sao Roque do Pico)
  • 20 August (Saturday): Our Lady of Sorrows (Viana do Castelo)
  • 22 August (Monday): Our Lady of Graces (Braganca)
  • 21 August (Sunday): Funchal City Day
  • 2 September (Friday): Municipal holiday (Povoacao)
  • 7 September (Wednesday): Faro Day
  • 15 September (Thursday): Birth of Bocage (Setubal)
  • 21 September (Wednesday): Saint Matthew’s Day (Viceu as well as also Elvas)
  • 4 October (Tuesday): Municipal holiday in Camara de Lobos
  • 9 October (Sunday): Municipal holiday in Machico
  • 25 November (Friday): Saint Catherine’s Day (Calheta)
  • 27 November (Sunday): Foral of Sancho I (Guarda)

Important dates in Portugal during 2022

  • 1 March (Tuesday): Shrove Tuesday, also referred to as Mardi Gras or Carnival (Carnaval)
  • 19 March (Saturday): Father’s Day
  • 27 March (Sunday): Clocks go forward one hour as a result of daylight saving time starting
  • 1 May (Sunday): Mother’s Day
  • 30 October (Sunday): Clocks go back one hour as a result of daylight saving time ending

School holidays in Portugal

In addition to Portugal’s national public holidays, Portuguese schools have their own holiday times for students. Some of these school breaks do in fact overlap with Portugal’s local public holidays; however, this is not the case for all of them. If you want to know more about school term times, you can also see our guide to school holidays in Portugal.