Home Lifestyle Holidays & Celebrations Bank holidays in the UK: public holidays in 2021 and 2022
Last update on February 04, 2021

Living in the UK? Here’s a list of all the UK public holidays you need to know in 2021 and 2022, as well as other important dates to make a note of on your calendar.

Whether you’re living in the UK or just visiting, it’s important to note the dates of the UK’s holidays. This is because many businesses and public institutions typically close or have reduced services on these days.

To ensure you don’t miss out on anything important, our guide puts together a list of the UK’s public holidays as well as important dates for your calendar.

Introduction to UK public holidays

Public holidays in the UK are usually called bank holidays. Some bank holidays in the UK coincide with colorful UK festivals, which is a great way to sample the top local British foods. Many businesses typically close, however, for UK national holidays and some UK transport may run on reduced schedules.

UK bank holidays: UK holidays
Guy Fawkes Night is a widely celebrated UK holiday, although not an official UK bank holiday.

It’s important to note that UK bank holidays are slightly different across the four countries of the UK. For example, Northern Ireland has two more holidays than England. These are St Patrick’s Day and the Anniversary of the Battle of the Boyne in 1690. Scotland also has several holidays that only apply to certain regions.

When UK holidays fall on a weekend, the next weekday (often a Monday) usually becomes a substitute day UK national holiday.

UK public holidays in 2021

Below is a list of UK bank holidays that are observed across the entire country in 2021, unless otherwise indicated. Further holidays may be announced by the government at a later date.

  • 1 January (Friday): New Year’s Day
  • 4 January (Monday): New Year’s holiday (Scotland)
  • 17 March (Wednesday): St Patrick’s Day (Northern Ireland)
  • 2 April (Friday): Good Friday
  • 5 April (Monday): Easter Monday
  • 3 May (Monday): May Day bank holiday
  • 31 May (Monday): Spring Bank Holiday
  • 12 July (Monday): Battle of the Boyne (Northern Ireland)
  • 2 August (Monday): Summer Bank Holiday (Scotland)
  • 30 August (Monday): Summer Bank Holiday (not in Scotland, however)
  • 30 November (Tuesday): St Andrew’s Day (Scotland)
  • 25 December (Saturday): Christmas Day
  • 26 December (Sunday): Boxing Day
  • 27 December (Monday): Christmas Day holiday
  • 28 December (Tuesday): Boxing Day holiday

UK public holidays in 2022

Below is a list of UK bank holidays that have been confirmed for 2022, but more may be announced at a later date.

  • 1 January (Saturday): New Year’s Day
  • 3 January (Monday): New Year’s Day holiday
  • 4 January (Tuesday): New Year’s holiday (Scotland)
  • 17 March (Thursday): St Patrick’s Day (Northern Ireland)
  • 15 April (Friday): Good Friday
  • 18 April (Monday): Easter Monday
  • 2 May (Monday): May Day bank holiday
  • 2 June (Thursday): Spring Bank Holiday
  • 3 June (Friday): Platinum Jubilee Bank Holiday
  • 12 July (Tuesday): Battle of the Boyne (Northern Ireland)
  • 1 August (Monday): Summer Bank Holiday (Scotland only)
  • 29 August (Monday): Summer Bank Holiday (not in Scotland, however)
  • 30 November (Wednesday): St Andrew’s Day (Scotland)
  • 25 December (Sunday): Christmas Day
  • 26 December (Monday): Boxing Day
  • 27 December (Tuesday): Christmas Day holiday

Regional holidays in 2021 and 2022

In addition to the national public holidays, there are a number of regional holidays across Scotland. Check with your local council to see when these holidays are taking place in 2020.

Important dates in the UK in 2021

  • 25 January (Monday): Burns Night (Scotland)
  • 12 February (Friday): Chinese New Year
  • 16 February (Tuesday): Shrove Tuesday
  • 24 March (Sunday): Mother’s Day
  • 28 March (Sunday): Clocks go forward one hour as British Summer Time starts
  • 12 April (Monday): Ramadan begins
  • 13 May (Thursday): Eid al-Fitr
  • 20 June (Sunday): Father’s Day
  • 16 September (Thursday): Yom Kippur
  • 31 October (Sunday): Clocks go back one hour as British Summer Time ends
  • 4 November (Thursday): Diwali
  • 5 November (Friday): Guy Fawkes Night – also referred to as Bonfire Night

Important dates in the UK in 2022

  • 25 January (Tuesday): Burns Night – Scotland
  • 1 February (Tuesday): Chinese New Year
  • 1 March (Tuesday): Shrove Tuesday
  • 27 March (Sunday): Mother’s Day
  • 27 March (Sunday): Clocks go forward one hour as British Summer Time (BST) starts
  • 2 April (Saturday): Ramadan begins
  • 3 May (Tuesday): Eid al-Fitr
  • 19 June (Sunday): Father’s Day
  • 5 October (Wednesday): Yom Kippur
  • 25 October (Tuesday): Diwali
  • 30 October (Sunday): Clocks go back one hour as British Summer Time (BST) ends
  • 5 November (Saturday): Guy Fawkes Night – sometimes referred to as Bonfire Night

UK school holidays

Read even more in our guide to school holidays in the UK.

For important festivals in the UK, you can also read our guide to the best UK festivals.