Help the refugees

If you move around the world by choice, consider helping those forced from their homes by conflict. Donate to the UN Refugee Agency today.

Home News The ministers in Spain’s new Socialist government

The ministers in Spain’s new Socialist government

Published on 06/06/2018

Spain's new Socialist Prime Minister Pedro Sanchez unveiled Wednesday a women-dominated cabinet which includes an astronaut as science minister. The following is a list of his 17 ministers:

Deputy Prime Minister and Equality Minister: Carmen Calvo, former culture minister, 60

Foreign Minister: Josep Borrell, former European parliament president, 71

Economy Minister: Nadia Calvino, economist, 49

Justice Minister: Dolores Delgado, public prosecutor, 56

Defence Minister: Margarita Robles, former judge, 62

Finance Minister: Maria Jesus Montero, regional minister, 52

Interior Minister: Fernando Grande-Marlaska, judge, 55

Public Works Minister: Jose Luis Abalos, lawmaker, 58

Education and Government Spokeswoman: Maria Isabel Celaa, former Basque government councillor, 69

Minister of Science, Innovation and Universities: Pedro Duque, astronaut, 55

Culture and Sports Minister: Maxim Huerta, award-winning author and journalist, 47

Minister for Territorial Policy and Civil Service: Meritxell Batet, lawmaker, 45

Minister for Employment, Migration and Social Security: Magdalena Valerio, lawmaker, 58

Industry, Commerce and Tourism Minister: Reyes Maroto, former Socialist spokeswoman in Madrid regional government, 44

Agriculture, Fisheries and Food Minister: Luis Planas, former ambassador to Morocco, 65

Ecological Transition Minister: Teresa Ribera, former secretary of state for the environment, 49

Health and Social Wellbeing Minister: Carmen Monton, lawmaker who studied medicine, 42