UAE public holidays: important dates in 2021 and 2022 | Expatica
Home Lifestyle Holidays & Celebrations UAE public holidays: important dates in 2021 and 2022
Last update on February 04, 2021

Living in the United Arab Emirates? Here’s a list of all of the UAE’s public holidays you need to know in 2021 and 2022, as well as other important dates to make a note of on your calendar.

Whether you’re living in the UAE or just visiting, it’s important to note these important holidays, as some businesses may be closed. 

To ensure you don’t miss out on anything important, our guide puts together a list of the UAE’s public holidays and important dates for your calendar.

Introduction to public holidays in the UAE

There are 14 official public holidays in the UAE. 

One of the biggest public holiday events is Eid al-Fitr, which marks the end of Ramadan. It begins the day after the sighting of the crescent moon, so the dates can only be estimated and may vary by a day or two. 

Workers are entitled to leave during Eid al-Fitr, and transport services and shopping malls tend to have extended hours. There also tend to be celebratory firework displays, and families and friends meet to exchange gifts.

You can also find out more about the best festivals in the UAE and how they’re celebrated.

Save this list of the UAE’s bank holidays in 2021 and 2022, plus other important days in the United Arab Emirates.

Public holidays in the UAE during 2021

This is a list of public holidays in the UAE during 2021. Please note that this list is subject to change.

  • 1 January (Friday): New Year’s Day
  • 11–15 May (Tuesday through Saturday): Eid al-Fitr holiday
  • 13 May (Thursday): Eid al-Fitr
  • 19 July (Monday): Arafat (Hajj) Day
  • 20 July (Tuesday): Eid al-Adha (Feast of Sacrifice)
  • 21–22 July (Wednesday through Thursday): Eid al-Adha holiday
  • 10 August (Tuesday): Al-Hijra (Islamic New Year)
  • 30 November (Tuesday): Commemoration Day
  • 2 December (Thursday): National Day
  • 3 December (Friday): National Day holiday

Important dates in the UAE during 2021

  • 21 March (Sunday): Mother’s Day
  • 12 April (Monday): start of Ramadan
  • 21 June (Monday): Father’s Day
  • 11 July (Sunday): Hajj season begins
  • 19 October (Tuesday): Mouloud (Prophet’s birthday)

Public holidays in the UAE during 2022

This is a list of public holidays in the UAE during 2022. Please note that this list is subject to change.

  • 1 January (Saturday): New Year’s Day
  • 30 April – 4 May (Saturday through Wednesday): Eid al-Fitr holiday
  • 2 May (Monday): Eid al-Fitr
  • 8 July (Friday): Arafat (Hajj) Day
  • 9 July (Saturday): Eid al-Adha (Feast of Sacrifice)
  • 10–11 July (Sunday through Monday): Eid al-Adha holiday
  • Saturday, 30 July (Saturday): Al-Hijra (Islamic New Year)
  • 1 December (Tuesday): Commemoration Day
  • 2 December (Friday): National Day
  • 3 December (Saturday): National Day holiday

Important dates in the UAE during 2022

  • 21 March (Monday): Mother’s Day
  • 1 April (Friday): start of Ramadan
  • 21 June (Tuesday): Father’s Day
  • 8 July (Friday): Hajj season begins
  • 8 October (Saturday): Mouloud (Prophet’s birthday)

There are no daylight saving time changes in the UAE; unlike some other countries, the clock remains the same throughout the year. The United Arab Emirates follows Gulf Standard Time.