Help the refugees

If you move around the world by choice, consider helping those forced from their homes by conflict. Donate to the UN Refugee Agency today.

Home News Portugal launches virus travel insurance for international tourists, amid COVID-19

Portugal launches virus travel insurance for international tourists, amid COVID-19

Published on 14/08/2020

Portugal has launched its travel insurance scheme for international tourists, amidst the coronavirus pandemic. The government’s latest initiative has been promoted by RNA Seguros de Assistência, with medical, surgical, hospital and pharmaceutical expenses being included in the travel insurance that will be extended throughout the whole country.

According to the organisation “the objective is to guarantee, to all who visit Portugal, that they can travel around the country, safe and with confidence.”

The movement comes in an effort to revive the tourism sector, which has been dramatically hit by the coronavirus pandemic.

Moreover, Portugal is not the only territory that seeks to guarantee safe holidays to its visitors. Earlier this week, authorities in Spain’s Canary Islands signed an insurance policy which ensures travellers who chose the Atlantic archipelago that they will have all their expenses paid, in the case that they get infected by the COVID-19 during their stay.

Spain’s Canary Islands became the first of the 17 autonomous communities in Spain to offer travel insurance for visitors, which covers medical, quarantine and repatriation costs.

In April, the Portuguese government supported the work of the European Commission, Member States and other European Union institutions in their joint effort to find an ambitious European recovery plan, in a “spirit of unwavering solidarity”, to help Europe recover from the damaged caused by the deadly virus.

Earlier this month, Portugal announced new air traffic rules, according to the Portuguese Government website. Authorities announced that air traffic would continue to remain open with countries in the European Union and the Schengen Zone as well as the United Kingdom. According to the announcement, regular flights will be resumed with 12 countries outside the EU.