Expatica news

New cabinet minister list released by António Costa

The President of the Republic, Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa, today accepted the government proposal submitted by Prime Minister, António Costa, for the members of the 22nd Constitutional Government, which will have five new ministers, four of which are female.

These new ministers are Alexandra Leitão (Minister of State Modernization and Public Administration), Ana Mendes Godinho (Minister of Labor, Solidarity and Social Security), Ana Abrunhosa (Minister of Territorial Cohesion), and Maria do Céu Albuquerque (Minister of Agriculture), joined by the new Minister of the Sea, Ricardo Serrão Santos.

“There is greater gender representation with 8 women as ministers and 11 male ministers,” the government said in a press release. The government will have four ministers of state, reinforcing the central nucleus of the government and allowing António Costa and Foreign Minister Augusto Santos Silva to “fully cement” Portugal’s position in the European Union.

The new government will also have two new semi-related ministries: State Modernization and Public Administration (decentralization and human resources), and Planning, focused on completing the Portugal 2020 program goals, launching a new EU funding framework, and prospective planning and analysis roles within the state.

The new government have set out four strategic challenges ahead: climate action, demographics, inequalities, and digital transition. According to the Presidency of the Republic, the appointment and inauguration of the 22nd Constitutional Government is scheduled for next week, on a date to be determined, after the publication of the official figures of the election held on October 6th and the first meeting of the Assembly of the Republic.

In addition to Prime Minister António Costa, the Government be made up of the following members:

Minister of State, Economy and Digital Transition – Pedro Siza Vieira

Minister of State and Foreign Affairs – Augusto Santos Silva

Minister of State and Presidency – Mariana Vieira da Silva

Minister of State and Finance – Mário Centeno

Minister of National Defense – João Gomes Cravinho

Minister of Internal Affairs – Eduardo Cabrita

Minister of Justice – Francisca Van Dunen

Minister of State Modernization and Public Administration – Alexandra Leitão

Minister of Planning – Nelson Souza Minister of Culture – Graça Fonseca

Minister of Science, Technology and Higher Education – Manuel Heitor

Minister of Education – Tiago Brandão Rodrigues

Minister of Labour, Solidarity and Social Security – Ana Mendes Godinho

Minister of Health – Marta Temido

Minister of the Environment and Climate Action – João Pedro Matos Fernandes

Minister of Infrastructure and Housing – Pedro Nuno Santos

Minister for Territorial Cohesion – Ana Abrunhosa

Minister of Agriculture – Maria do Céu Albuquerque

Minister of the Sea – Ricardo Serrão Santos

The following Secretaries of State were also appointed:

State Secretary for Parliamentary Affairs – Duarte Cordeiro

Assistant Secretary of State for the Prime Minister – Tiago Antunes

Secretary of State of the Presidency of the Council of Ministers – André Moz Caldas