Expatica news

European Parliament votes for ‘visa free’ travel for post-Brexit Brits

brexitLenThe European Parliament has voted to confirm that UK citizens will continue to enjoy visa-free travel to member states, should there be a no-deal Brexit.

MEPs voted 502 votes to 81 in favour of the concession on the condition that EU nationals enjoy the same facility when travelling to the United Kingdom.

The Gibraltar situation, causing argument at the European Council as ‘the rock’s’ sovereignty continually is disputed by Spain, had delayed the vote which now has been taken.

When the UK leaves the European union, travellers with British passports will be ‘third country nationals’ but, as with over 60 other nationalities, they will be allowed to stay for up to 90 days in any 180-day period.

The new deal from Brussels has a proviso that if the UK introduces a visa requirement for nationals of any one European Union member state, visa requirements for UK nationals travelling to Europe could be reintroduced.