Expatica news

Belgium not through to final

11 May 2007

BRUSSELS – Belgium failed to qualify on Thursday for the final of the Eurovision song contest.

A record 28 countries competed for 10 spots in the Eurovision final on Saturday. 14 countries already had a guaranteed place in Saturday’s competition. These 14 guaranteed spots went to the top ten from last year’s contest and the big four from the European Radio Union: France, Spain, UK and Germany.

The ten countries who qualified last night were Belarus, Macedonia, Slovenia, Georgia, Latvia, Serbia, Bulgaria, Turkey and Moldavia.

The disco song “LovePower” from Belgian delegation The Krazy Mess Groovers (KMG’s) was not very popular among the voting public in Europe.

Previous winners like Ukraine, Denmark and the Netherlands did not advance to the final either. The Eastern European countries primarily voted for each other.

[Copyright Expatica News 2007]

Subject: Belgian news