Home Lifestyle Holidays & Celebrations Public holidays in Saudi Arabia: important dates in 2021 and 2022
Last update on April 29, 2021

Living in Saudi Arabia? Here’s a list of all of Saudi Arabia’s public holidays you need to know in 2021 and 2022, as well as other important dates to make a note of on your calendar.

Whether you’re living in Saudi Arabia or just visiting, it’s important to note these important dates, as some local businesses may be closed.

To ensure you don’t miss out on anything important, our guide puts together a list of Saudi Arabia’s public holidays and important dates for your calendar.

Introduction to public holidays in Saudi Arabia

There are nine official public holidays in Saudi Arabia. 

One of the biggest public holiday events is Eid al-Fitr, which marks the end of Ramadan. It begins the day after the sighting of the crescent moon, so the dates can only be estimated and may vary by a day or two. 

Workers are entitled to leave during Eid al-Fitr. There also tend to be many celebratory events such as firework displays, circuses, and discount sales. Families and friends also meet to exchange gifts.

You can also find out more about the best festivals in Saudi Arabia and how they’re celebrated.

Save this list of Saudi Arabian bank holidays in 2021 and 2022, plus other important days in the country.

Public holidays in Saudi Arabia in 2021

This is a list of public holidays in Saudi Arabia during 2021. Please note that this list is subject to change.

  • 13 May (Thursday): Eid al-Fitr
  • 14–16 May (Friday through Sunday): Eid al-Fitr holiday
  • 19 June (Monday): Arafat Day
  • 20 July (Tuesday): Eid al-Adha (Feast of Sacrifice)
  • 21–22 July (Wednesday through Thursday): Eid al-Adha holiday
  • 23 September (Thursday): Saudi National Day

Important dates in Saudi Arabia during 2021

  • 21 March (Sunday): Mother’s Day
  • 13 April (Tuesday): Ramadan begins
  • 20 June (Sunday): Father’s Day
  • 10 August (Tuesday): Muharram (Islamic New Year)

Public holidays in Saudi Arabia during 2022

This is a list of public holidays in Saudi Arabia during 2022. Please note that this list is subject to change.

  • Tuesday, 3 May (Tuesday): Eid al-Fitr
  • 4–6 May (Wednesday through Friday): Eid al-Fitr holiday
  • 9 July (Saturday): Arafat Day
  • 10 July (Sunday): Eid al-Adha (Feast of Sacrifice)
  • 11–12 July (Monday through Tuesday): Eid al-Adha holiday
  • 22 September (Thursday): National Day

Important dates in Saudi Arabia 2022

  • 21 March (Monday): Mother’s Day
  • 3 April (Sunday): start of Ramadan
  • 19 June (Sunday): Father’s Day
  • 30 July (Saturday): Muharram (Islamic New Year)

There are no daylight saving time changes in Saudi Arabia; unlike some other countries, the clock remains the same throughout the year (Arabia Standard Time).