Nobel Physics Prize: Russian laureates

, Comments 0 comments

Here is a list of Russian winners of the Nobel Physics Prize, which on Tuesday was awarded to two Russian-born scientists Andre Geim and Konstantin Novoselov for pioneering work on graphene, touted as the wonder material of the 21st century:

2010: Konstantin Novoselov (Russian-British citizen), (shared with Andre Geim, who was born in Russia but is today a Dutch citizen)

2003: Vitaly L. Ginzburg (Russia) Alexei Abrikosov (Russian-US citizen), (shared with Anthony Leggett, a British-US national)

2000: Zhores I. Alferov, (shared with Herbert Kroemer, Germany and Jack S. Kilby, US)

1978: Pyotr Kapitsa (USSR), (shared with Arno Penzias and Robert Wilson of the US)

1964: Nikolai Basov and Aleksandr Prokhorov, USSR, (shared with Charles Townes of the US)

1962: Lev Davidovich Landau (USSR)

1958: Pavel Alekseyevich Cherenkov, Il'ja Mikhailovich Frank and Igor Yevgenyevich Tamm (USSR)

© 2010 AFP

0 Comments To This Article