Nobel Medicine Prize: Previous British laureates

, Comments 0 comments

Here is a list of British winners of the Nobel Medicine Prize, awarded Monday to a Briton:

2010: Robert G. Edwards

2007: Martin Evans (with Mario Capecchi and Oliver Smithies of the United States)

2003: Peter Mansfield (with Paul C. Lauterbur of the United States)

2002: Sydney Brenner and John E. Sulston (with H. Robert Horvitz of the US)

2001: Timothy Hunt and Paul Nurse (with Leland Hartwell of the US)

1993: Richard Roberts (with Phillip Sharp of the US)

1988: James Black (with Gertrude Elion and George Hitchings of the US)

1984: Cesar Milstein (Britain/Argentina) (with Niels Jerne of Denmark and Georges Koehler of Germany)

1982: John Vane (with Bengt Samuelsson and Sune Bergstroem of Sweden)

1979: Godfrey Hounsfield (with Allan Cormack of the US)

1973: Nikolaas Tinbergen (with Konrad Lorenz of Austria and Karl Von Frisch of Germany)

1972: Rodney Porter (with Gerald Edelman of the US)

1970: Bernard Katz (with Ulf von Euler of Sweden and Julius Axelrod of the US)

1963: Alan Lloyd Hodgkin and Andrew Fielding Huxley (with John Carew Eccles of Australia)

1962: Francis Harry Compton Crick and Maurice Hugh Frederick Wilkins (with James Dewey Watson of the US)

1960: Peter Brian Medawar (with Frank Macfarlane Burnet of Australia)

1953: Hans Adolf Krebs (with Fritz Albert Lipmann of the US)

1945: Alexander Fleming, Ernst Boris Chain and Howard Walter Florey

1936: Henry Hallett Dale (with Otto Loewi of Austria)

1932: Charles Scott Sherrington and Edgar Douglas Adrian

1929: Frederick Gowland Hopkins (with Christiaan Eijkman of the Netherlands)

1922: Archibald Vivian Hill (with Otto Fritz Meyerhof of Germany)

1902: Ronald Ross

© 2010 AFP

0 Comments To This Article