Nobel Physics Prize: British laureates

5th October 2010, Comments 0 comments

Here is a list of British winners of the Nobel Physics Prize, which on Tuesday was awarded to British-Russian scientist Konstantin Novoselov, along with Dutch Andre Geim, for pioneering work on graphene, touted as the wonder material of the 21st century:

2010: Konstantin Novoselov (British-Russian), (shared with Andre Geim of the Netherlands)

2009: Charles Kao (British-US citizen), (shared with Willard Boyle (US-Canadian citizen and George Smith of the US)

2003: Anthony Leggett (British-US citizen), (shared with Alexei Abrikosov, Russia-US and Vitaly L. Ginzburg, Russia)

1977: Nevill Mott, (shared with Philip Anderson and John van Vleck, US)

1974: Sir Martin Ryle and Antony Hewish

1973: Brian David Josephson (with Ivar Giaever, Norway, and Leo Esaki, Japan)

1971: Dennis Gabor (US-Hungary)

1959: Owen Chamberlain (Emilio Gino Segre, Italy)

1956: William Bradford Shockley (with John Bardeen and Walter Houser Brattain, US)

1954: Max Born

1951: Sir John Douglas Cockcroft (with Ernest Thomas Sinton Walton, Ireland)

1950: Cecil Frank Powell

1948: Patrick Maynard Stuart Blackett

1947: Sir Edward Victor Appleton

1937: George Thomson (shared with Clinton Davisson, US)

1935: James Chadwick

1933: Paul Adrien Maurice Dirac (shared with Erwin Schroedinger, Austria)

1928: Owen Willans Richardson

1927: Charles Wilson (shared with Arthur Compton, US)

1917: Charles Glover Barkla

1915: Sir William Henry Bragg, William Lawrence Bragg

1906: Joseph John Thomson

1904: Lord Rayleigh (John William Strutt)

© 2010 AFP

0 Comments To This Article