Ministers in Britain's new coalition government

12th May 2010, Comments 0 comments

Herewith a list of cabinet ministers in Britain's new Conservative-Liberal Democrat coalition government, released on Wednesday, with party affiliation in brackets:

- Prime minister -- David Cameron (Con)

- Deputy prime minister -- Nick Clegg (Lib Dem)

- Foreign secretary -- William Hague (Con)

- Chancellor of the Exchequer (finance minister) -- George Osborne (Con)

- Lord Chancellor, justice secretary -- Kenneth Clarke (Con)

- Home secretary, and minister for women and equalities -- Theresa May (Con)

- Defence secretary -- Liam Fox (Con)

- Business, innovation and skills secretary -- Vince Cable (Lib Dem)

- Work and pensions secretary -- Iain Duncan Smith (Con)

- Energy and climate change secretary - Chris Huhne (Lib Dem)

- Health secretary -- Andrew Lansley (Con)

- Education secretary -- Michael Gove (Con)

- Communities and local government secretary -- Eric Pickles (Con)

- Transport secretary - Philip Hammond (Con)

- Environment, food and rural affairs secretary - Caroline Spelman (Con)

- International development secretary - Andrew Mitchell (Con)

- Northern Ireland secretary -- Owen Paterson (Con)

- Scottish secretary -- Danny Alexander (Lib Dem)

- Wales secretary - Cheryl Gillan (Con)

- Culture, Olympics, Media and Sport secretary - Jeremy Hunt (Con)

- Chief secretary to the Treasury -- David Laws (Lib Dem)

- Leader of the House of Lords - Lord Strathclyde (Con)

- Minister without portfolio - Baroness Warsi (Con)

Also attending cabinet meetings

- Minister for the Cabinet Office, Paymaster General - Francis Maude (Con)

- Minister of State, Cabinet Office - Oliver Letwin (Con)

- Minister of State (Universities and Science) - Department for Business, Innovation and Skills - David Willetts (Con)

- Leader of the House of Commons - George Young (Con)

- Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasury and Chief Whip - Patrick McLoughlin (Con)

Also invited to attend cabinet meetings when required:

- Attorney General -- Dominic Grieve (Con)

© 2010 AFP

0 Comments To This Article