Double room in my quirky period house (just me lives here) in a quiet friendly community. I am vegan and am happy to provide vegetarian and vegan food for you. At the present time I only have availability on Friday and Saturday nights. For a few weeks in the summer I have longer-term accommodation available – usually the first weeks in May June and July. Please contact me for details.

You are welcome to chill out here in the evening and cook your own food (veggie or vegan only please) if you feel like it. I normally get in at 7pm on a Friday but I have a luggage drop-off facility and if you have a car you can park up whenever you want as long as you give me advance notice a couple of days beforehand. I’m far more flexible on Saturdays but having the luggage drop off facility makes this less of a problem.

Transport and location:

1.5 miles from the station, another half mile beyond that to the centre. There are good bus links to and from centre from the bottom of the street. I have a bad knee and it takes me 25 minutes to walk to the station. A taxi from the station costs £8-10 depending on time of day. If you are flying to the UK I recommend you get the bus from Heathrow to Oxford. It goes to the Gloucester Green bus station and it’s just a few steps from there to the bus stop.

There’s no curfew. Once you have the key you are welcome to come and go as you please. Please be aware that my road is unpaved and you should take care on it as you would any country lane. Parking is outside my house. I will leave cones outside. Please just move them and park there rather than anywhere else (as long as your car will fit).

Re food – breakfast consists of cereal, toast, PB, jams and fruit.
I am happy to cook you a vegan evening meal with notice. The price is usually £15 per person. Please ask for further details if interested. I can send you some menus without you committing yourself to anything. Though Oxford is full of great places to eat we have limited options at the moment here in Botley. The pub at the bottom of the street serves standard (fairly ordinary but not expensive) pub food. There is an Indian restaurant half way between here and the station and a very good Chinese take-away close to it. During the day Waitrose has a nice little cafe.

Linen, shampoo and soap included in the price and other basic toiletries if required. Please ask if you have forgotten something. Making guests feel comfortable and welcome is important to me so please always say if you don’t like something or need something.

I don’t have pets but there are four cats next door so you may very well see them. Please be sure to say if you are allergic. The cats don’t come in very often but I can try to make sure they stay away if you warn me.

This is a fairly low allergen household. I’m allergic to fragrances and chemicals myself so I use Ecover washing powder (fragrance free), Method and You cleaning products and very limited use of air fresheners. I do use a couple of natural ones but please warn me if you are super sensitive and I can put these way. For years I had to carry my own sheets and pillows with me so I do understand the difficulty. Of course I can’t guarantee you won’t be sensitive to something but I do my best to minimise this.

Rates

  • Nightly: 30.00 GBP

House Facilities

  • TV
  • Internet Access
  • Smoke Alarm
  • Laundry
  • Garden
  • Parking
Check this listing