Help the refugees

If you move around the world by choice, consider helping those forced from their homes by conflict. Donate to the UN Refugee Agency today.

The space

Friendly, light, comfortable three bedroom, 1930s semi-detached house North of the river Cam, about a 25 minute walk from King’s College, the market square and lots of restaurants and coffee shops. There are front and back gardens which you are welcome to use, and parking space for your car (off road, but not on a private driveway). The house has high speed (200MB) wifi broadband included in the price.

Two rooms will come available, and possibly a third – all for single occupancy only. Payment via PayPal or electronic bank transfer.

1. Currently booked for an indefinite term – A double size bedroom overlooking the front garden (3.5m x 4.5m). There are a single bed, a two-seater settee, a desk and chair, a Smart TV & headphones (Netflix included in the price), DVD player and hanging, shelving and drawer space for your clothes and belongings. The room has a lockable fire door.

2. From 31 October, 2022 – A single bedroom overlooking the back garden (2m x 2.75m). There are a single bed, a desk shelf and chair, a Smart TV (Netflix included in the price) & headphones, DVD player and hanging and shelving space for your clothes and belongings. There is a further storage box on wheels under the bed. This room has a lockable fire door.

3. From mid-end September, 2022 – A double size bedroom overlooking the back garden (3.5m x 4.5m). There are a single bed, a two-seater bed-settee, a comfy chair, a desk and chair, a Smart TV & headphones (Netflix included in the price), DVD player and hanging, shelving and drawer space for your clothes and belongings. There is a small built-in cupboard I have used as an ‘office’ in the past, but which is also good for general storage. The room has a lockable door.

You’re welcome to borrow DVD’s from my collection, or any of the books around. There is a hair dryer in the room, and you will have access to an ironing board and iron, should you need it. Towels and soaps are provided.

You will have use of the bathroom (walk-in shower) and toilet (just outside your room + there is a separate toilet with hand basis down stairs). You are welcome to use the kitchen, prepare your breakfast or lunch there and cook yourself a meal in the evenings, etc. You will have a kitchen cupboard and single fridge for your sole use, and you would buy your own food. I can show you how to use the washing machine if required (there is a tumble dryer in the under-stairs cupboard).

Anyone is welcome to hang out in the lounge, work there, watch TV, chat with other guests, etc. There is a dining room table and chairs by French doors opening onto the garden which people have used to work at.

You will be sharing the house with one or maybe two other guests (male or female) and myself coming in from the studio to use the kitchen and bathroom. As people often come for work placements or conferences, we respect each other’s need for sleep and are quiet between 11pm and 7am. That doesn’t mean you have to be in by then, of course … it’s just to ask you to be considerate when you do come in, in case someone has a heavy day coming up. 🙂

The house is in a residential area, with grocery shops close by and near bus routes into town if you don’t want to walk. The walk into town is nice, though, taking you across a footbridge over the Cam and either along the river, or across Jesus Green, a well-known local park. It takes around 25-30 minutes, depending on how fast you walk. For those who like cycling, bikes can be hired locally, and you can put yours against the fence alongside the house. There is also a local gym (about 5 minute walk away) with a pool, workout machines, classes and even basketball courts!

Cambridge is a wonderful old city (you will know this already, if you’re checking out your stay here), with opportunities for visiting the lovely old colleges (one spectacular way to see them is by chauffeur punt from the river), a range of museums (including the famous Fitzwilliam Museum), a wonderful botanic garden, a great walk to Grantchester to have tea in the orchard or a pint at the famous Green Man Pub, and much, much more.

My house is about 15 minutes by taxi from the station (or 25 minutes by bicycle), from where it is only 25 minutes by train to Stansted and 45 minutes by train to Kings Cross station, central London. Heathrow airport is about 90 minutes by train.

Please get in touch if you have any questions, or want to clarify anything. I speak English and Dutch (I’m a Dutch national, but have lived in Britain since ’74). I will do anything I can to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable!

COVID-19 – I abide by the national and local rules and regulations, I expect guests to do the same and there are anti-sceptic wipes, etc, but I have moved across from the Airbnb platform because I don’t want to have to wear a mask in my own home. I checked with my (mostly long-term) guests, and they didn’t want to do that either. The house doesn’t lend itself to self-isolation very well due to us all sharing facilities, but if you need to do this, let’s talk.

PS – Without wanting to sound too draconian, but just to have said it somewhere in the blurb … No smoking and no drugs..! 🙂

Check in times:

This is by arrangement. In principle, checking in is ok anything after 7.30am and before 21.30pm, though if you come while I’m at work, we’d need to discuss how to get you in and settled. (There is a key safe.) Provided there is not someone waiting to move into the room, you’re welcome to check out anytime before 20.00pm. If necessary I can keep your suitcases in the lounge until you leave in any case. 🙂

Rates

  • Nightly: 25.00 GBP
  • Weekly: 150.00 GBP
  • Monthly: 600.00 GBP
Check this listing