Press freedom prize goes to Russian, Iranian

17th November 2010, Comments 0 comments

An Iranian editor who exposed horrific prison abuses and a reporter working in Russia's deadly Caucasus region are among five journalists winning an international press freedom award, the Committee to Protect Journalists said Wednesday.

The annual awards ceremony will take place Tuesday in New York, also honoring journalists from Ehtiopia and Venezuela.

"Journalism can be a deadly profession, and not only in war and conflict zones," the CPJ said.

The winners are:

-- Mohammad Davari, editor-in-chief of the Iranian news website Saham News. He was sentenced to five years in prison after he exposed abuse, including rape and torture, at the Kahrizak Detention Center. The center was subsequently closed.

-- Nadira Isayeva, editor-in-chief of the weekly Chernovik in Russia's Dagestan province. She has faced "the wrath of the region's security services" for her reporting on the notoriously corrupt and violent North Caucasus region, where few independent reporters remain, the CPJ said.

-- Dawit Kebede was jailed for independent reporting on Ethiopia's 2005 election violence. In 2008 he launched the Awramba Times, the country's only Amharic-language newspaper not to toe the government line.

-- Laureano Marquez, a Venezuelan author and humorist, has crossed swords with President Hugo Chavez over his satirical commentaries. He has been fined and threatened with prosecution.

© 2010 AFP

0 Comments To This Article