St Maarten ready for government

, Comments 0 comments


On the Dutch Antilles island of St Maarten, the United People's Party UP and Democratic Party DP have reached agreement to form a government. It will be the island’s first government after becoming an autonomous country within the Dutch kingdom on 10 October 2010.

Remarkably the smaller of the two parties, the Democratic Party with two seats, will supply the prime minister. DP leader Sarah Wescot-Williams is likely to fill the post.

The United People's Party has six seats and in exchange for giving away the top position will fill five important ministerial posts. The Democratic Party will also provide an envoy to the Netherlands and the minister of health. The UP gets the remaining ministries.

The Netherlands Antilles have been in Dutch hands since the 17th century. Aruba already has special status. Curacao and St Maarten will become constituent countries on 10 October 2010. Bonaire, St Eustatius and Saba will become special municipalities of the Netherlands.




© Radio Netherlands Worldwide

0 Comments To This Article