Nobel Physics Prize: Dutch laureates

, Comments 0 comments

Here is a list of Dutch winners of the Nobel Physics Prize, which on Tuesday was awarded to Dutch scientist Andre Geim, with British-Russian Konstantin Novoselov, for pioneering work on graphene, touted as the wonder material of the 21st century:

2010: Andre Geim (with Konstantin Novoselov, Britain-Russia)

1999: Gerardus 't Hooft, Martinus J.G. Veltman

1984: Simon van der Meer (with Carlo Rubbia, Italy)

1981: Nicolaas Bloembergen (Dutch-American), (with Arthur Schawlow, US, and Kai Siegbahn, Sweden)

1953: Frits (Frederik) Zernike

1913: Heike Kamerlingh Onnes

1910: Johannes Diderik van der Waals

1902: Hendrik Antoon Lorentz and Pieter Zeeman

© 2010 AFP

0 Comments To This Article