New government and new status for Curaao

, Comments 0 comments


The Netherlands Antilles island of Curaçao has a new government, led by Gerrit Schotte of the MFK party.

The three-party coalition will be sworn in on Sunday, the day that the five-island group forming the Netherlands Antilles is disbanded and Curaçao becomes an autonomous country within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. One of the three parties is Pueblo Soberano, whose ultimate aim is independence.

With the disappearance of the Netherlands Antilles as a unit, the islands of St Maarten and Aruba will have a similar autonomous status to Curaçao, while Bonaire, St. Eustatius and Saba will be governed on a par with Dutch municipalities in the European part of the kingdom.

© Radio Netherlands Worldwide

0 Comments To This Article