EU members must adopt new telecom policy

, Comments 0 comments

The European Commission began action on Tuesday against 20 EU member states who have not put into place new telecommunications rules. The Commission had set a deadline of 25 May for implementing the policy. 

The 20 countries have been sent letters asking why the rules had not been fully adopted, reported Reuters. In the message they were giving two months to reply before facing possible referral to the European Court of Justice. 

The new policy is meant to bolster competition among telecoms operators and increase consumer rights. The laws give consumers the right to switch providers in one day without changing their phone numbers, receive more information about services and get better protection of personal data.

Among the member states to be sent the notifications are: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxemburg, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia and Spain.

Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Ireland, Malta and Sweden have fully implemented the rules. 

© Radio Netherlands Worldwide

0 Comments To This Article