Dutch hockey women win Champions Trophy

, Comments 0 comments

The Dutch women’s hockey team has won the Rabo FIH Champions Trophy at the Wagener stadium in Amstelveen.

Argentina scored three goals in the first half, while team captain Maartje Paumen scored the only Dutch goal just before half-time. Argentina appeared to be firmly in the lead, but the Dutch women staged a major comeback in the second half, with Maartje Paumen scoring two more goals to tie the match.

Two goal-less periods of extra time led to the first penalty shoot-out in Champions Trophy history, which ended in a 3-2 victory for the Dutch team. The Netherlands won their first Champions Trophy since 2007 while denying Argentina its fourth title in a row.

The Dutch were originally scheduled to play South Korea in the finals because the Koreans had the same number of points as Argentina but with more goals scored in the semi-final round.

The Argentinians filed an appeal arguing that they should be allowed to include the total number of points for all matches played in the tournament, but this was rejected by the tournament director. Argentina then sought a hearing before a panel, which reversed the decision.


© Radio Netherlands Worldwide

© Radio Netherlands Worldwide

0 Comments To This Article