Dutch end development aid to 15 countries

, Comments 1 comment

The Netherlands wants to terminate its development cooperation with 15 countries including Bolivia, Tanzania, Zambia and former Dutch colony Surinam. The newspaper has obtained a copy of a government draft proposal to this effect.

At present, the Netherlands maintains development relations with more than 30 countries. The cabinet is expected to take a decision before the end of this month which will have to be approved by parliament. Egypt is reportedly still the subject of much discussion because of recent developments there and its pivotal role in the Arab world.

In drafting the list of countries eligible for continued Dutch development aid, the government has reportedly used two criteria: the added value of the Netherlands as donor country and the national interests of the Netherlands.

Fifteen countries will remain 'partner countries': Benin, Ethiopia, Mali, Mozambique, Rwanda, Uganda, Afghanistan, Burundi, Yemen, the Palestinian Territories, Sudan, Bangladesh, Ghana, Indonesia and Kenya.



© Radio Netherlands Worldwide

1 Comment To This Article

  • hans posted:

    on 11th March 2011, 16:48:29 - Reply

    Hoog tijd.