Dutch cyclists first to start in Vuelta

, Comments 0 comments

Three Dutch cycling teams are taking part in this year's Tour of Spain, the Vuelta. The race starts today on a beach in Benidorm.

Skil-Shimano has four Dutch cyclists in its team and Rabobank and Vacansoleil-DCM have both sent three Dutch cyclists to the race around the Iberian peninsula. BMC and Quickstep both have one Dutchman on the team.

Italian cyclist Vincenzo Nibali, last year's winner is wearing the number 1 jersey.

It will be the last large tour for Mark Cavendish's HTC-Highroad team as the US team will cease to exist after this year.

It's the 66th edition of the Vuelta. The competition starts with team time trials over a 13.5 kilometre course. Skil-Shimano will be the first of 22 teams to start. Vacansoleil will be the second. The Vuelta ends on 11 September in Madrid.

Read about Vuelta in the Netherlands 2009  

© Radio Netherlands Worldwide

0 Comments To This Article