Dutch PM Mark Rutte elected politician of the year

, Comments 0 comments


Dutch parliamentary journalists have elected VVD leader and Prime Minister Mark Rutte politician of the year. Christian Democratic Foreign Minister Maxime Verhagen came second and Freedom Party leader Geert Wilders third.

Last year, the election was won by Alexander Pechtold, the leader of the democrat party D66. Fourth and fifth place in this year's edition of the election went to Emile Roemer Socialist Party and Ab Klink Christian Democrats.

The journalists chose D66 MP Wouter Koolmees as this year's most promising political talent. Only politicians who joined parliament this year were eligible to take part in the election.


© Radio Netherlands Worldwide

0 Comments To This Article