Ajax win 30th Premier League title

, Comments 0 comments

Ajax have won their 30th Premier League title after beating defending champions FC Twente 3-1.

The clinching goal came on 78 minutes, when Ajax's Siem de Jong scored his second goal from a cross by Christian Eriksen.

On 46 minutes, FC Twente's Denny Landzaat scored an own goal, bringing the score to 2-0.

A minuter later, however, FC Twente midfielder Theo Janssen, narrowed the gap to 2-1.

Siem de Jong scored the final’s first goal on 23 minutes from a sharp cross by wing defender Gregory van der Wiel.

Trailing league leaders FC Twente by one point, Ajax had to win the match to grab the title, while the reigning champions only needed a draw in their away game in Amsterdam.

FC Twente began well, with Bryan Ruiz getting the match’s first scoring opportunity after just 35 seconds, which produced a fine save by Ajax goalkeeper Kenneth Vermeer.

After that, however, FC Twente struggled to maintain possession and mount a successful offensive.

Ajax too showed signs of nervousness. 19 minutes in, following a brilliant one-two, Miralem Sulejmani had a chance to fire off an unimpeded shot—which flew way over the crossbar.  

© Radio Netherlands Worldwide

© Radio Netherlands Worldwide

0 Comments To This Article