Quick guide to Dutch history

29th July 2003, Comments 0 comments

300-800 , The Franks family controls the region of the Netherlands until, in the Eighth Century, Charlemagne is crowned and the Netherlands becomes a part of his empire.

300-800 The Franks family controls the region of the Netherlands until, in the Eighth Century, Charlemagne is crowned and the Netherlands becomes a part of his empire.
11th Century Farmers from the Utrecht district begin to build dykes.
1204 Lord of Amstel builds a castle on the outskirts of what is to become Amsterdam.
1270 The River Amstel is dammed and a village (Aemstelledamme) is constructed on the site of Dam Square.
1275 The Gijsbrecht (Lord of Amstel) enters a power struggle with Count Floris V and the Bishop of Utrecht when Floris V bequeaths toll rights on Amsterdam and conquers West Friesland. The Lord of Amstel is forced to accept Floris V as his feudal lord.
1300 City rights are granted by the Bishop of Utrecht following the murder of Floris V by Gijsbrecht van Amstel.
1313 Aemstelledamme is granted full municipal rights by the Bishop of Utrecht. The Bishop also grants William III of Holland the right to govern the young Amsterdam.
1323 Amsterdam obtains exclusive rights to import beer from Hamburg. As a result, Amsterdam becomes prosperous, increasing its trade in a variety of goods because of its position between the Atlantic and Hanseatic ports.
1419 After coming to power, Phillip the Good establishes assemblies consisting of representatives from the nobility, clergy and towns.
1452 A fire destroys three-quarters of Amsterdam, leading to large-scale urban development.
15th century The Low Countries (the Netherlands, Belgium and Luxembourg) are unified and integrated into the Burgundian-Habsburg Empire.
1519 Amsterdam is placed under Spanish rule.
1534 Anabaptists take hold of Amsterdam town hall in an effort to establish 'New Jerusalem' on the River Amstel.
1568 Eighty Years' War begins after William the Silent arranges a Protestant revolt against Spanish rule. The Dutch sought political as well as religious freedom.
1572 William of Orange leads Amsterdam's patricians to side with the rebels.
1579 Calvinist provinces proclaim independence. The Union of Utrecht is signed, allowing freedom of religious belief but not of worship.
17th century The Netherlands enjoys a "golden age" of intellectual and artistic growth. It was also a time of great economic and urban development.
1602 The first multinational company, the East India Company, is created to profit from the lucrative trade of silks and spices. The company led to colonial expansion by the Dutch.
1609-1621 Henry Hudson sails up the American river later named after him, on a voyage for the Dutch East India Company.
1621 Dutch West India Company is established to expand and trade with America.
1624 - 1654 North-east Brazil is colonised by the Dutch.
1625 The Dutch trading post on Manhattan Island is dubbed Nieuwe Amsterdam (now known as New York).
1634 A trading post for the Dutch West India Company is established in Curacao in the Antilles.
1648 Eighty Years' War ends when the treaty of the Independence of the Republic of the United Provinces is formalised.
1650-1800 During this time, the Netherlands and England are involved in four wars over the Republic of the United Provinces' monopoly on the sea.
1652 Jan van Riebeek founds the Cape Colony.
1658-1795 Sri Lanka is colonised by the Dutch.
1663 The plague kills 23,000 people in The Netherlands
1664 The English confiscate Nieuwe Amsterdam and rename it New York after the Duke of York.
1677 William of Orange weds Mary, daughter of King James II.
1689 William of Orange becomes King William III of England.
1701-1713 Spanish War of Succession.
1795-1806 French army overruns the country, and with much support from Amsterdam, the United Provinces become the new Batavian Republic.
1806 Napoleon's brother, Louis Bonaparte, becomes king of Holland.
1811 Louis Bonaparte is removed from the throne.
1813 The Netherlands are unified, removing Amsterdam's status as a self-governing city.
1815 Amsterdam officially becomes the capital of Holland and William of Orange becomes King William I, King of the Netherlands.
1830 Belgium becomes independent as a result of the Brussels Revolution.
1890-1948 The reign of Queen Wilhelmina.
1922 Women are given the right to vote.
15 May 1940 Nazi Germany invades Holland.
5 May 1945 Canadian soldiers liberate Amsterdam. Within the same year, The Netherlands becomes a United Nations member.
1948 Queen Wilhelmina resigns as Queen in favour of her daughter, Juliana.
Dec. 1949 Independence of the Dutch East Indies granted.
1957 The Netherlands joins the European Economic Union.
1975 Cannabis is decriminalised and Surinam becomes an independent republic.
30 April 1980 Queen Juliana abdicates in favour of her daughter Beatrix.
1986 Flevoland becomes the 12th province.
1999 The Netherlands adopts the euro. The Dutch government considers legalising euthanasia.

0 Comments To This Article