Politician of the year polls reflect divisions in society

19th December 2011, Comments 0 comments

The winners of the two best-known ‘politician of the year’ polls come from opposing sides of the political spectrum.

The parliamentary press corps has selected Dutch Prime Minister Mark Rutte as politician of the year for the second year in a row. SP leader Emile Roemer came second.

The VVD prime minister was described as a ‘tightrope walker deftly waltzing the policies of his minority cabinet through the lower house’.

However, Mark Rutte only managed second place in a poll conducted by a popular current affairs TV show. In a reversal of the press corps poll, viewers chose SP leader Emile Roemer as their politician of the year.

The opposition politician won 24 percent of the 37,000 votes cast by the public. Mark Rutte took 19 percent of the vote and CDA finance minister Jan Kees de Jager came a poor third with 14 percent of the vote.

A Radio 1 poll selected Christian Union MP Carola Schouten as ‘political talent of the year’ for the way the newcomer to the lower house handles the complicated finance portfolio.  

© Radio Netherlands Worldwide

0 Comments To This Article