Dutch speed skaters win 11 medals in Moscow

30th January 2011, Comments 0 comments


Dutch speed skaters have won 11 medals at World Cup in Moscow. In almost every event there was a Dutch skater on the podium.

The Dutch women's team won gold in the Team Persuit. Ireen Wüst, Marrit Leenstra and Diane Valkenburg finished just over a second ahead of the Norwegians and three seconds before the Germans.

It was the first time the trio raced together. The next competition for the ladies team is the World Championships in the German town of Inzell in March. Ireen Wüst said after the race, "I hope we do just as well in Inzell."

The men's team pursuit missed out on the medals because a fall.

In the women's competition, Olympic Champion Ireen Wüst won silver in the 1000m and 1500m both times just behind Canadian Christine Nesbitt and in the 3000m behind Czech Martina Sábliková. Margot Boer came second in both of her 500 metre races to German skater Jenny Wolf.

In the men's competition, there were gold medals for Stefan Groothuis 1000m, Jan Smeekens 500m on Saturday, Bob de Jong 5000m. Olympic Champion Mark Tuitert took bronze in the 1500 metre race. Jacques de Koning won a bronze medal in Friday's 500 metre race.

The next competition for the Dutch skaters is the World Championships Allround in the Canadian city of Calgary in February.

© Radio Netherlands Worldwide  

© Radio Netherlands Worldwide

0 Comments To This Article