US, French professors share top maths prize

21st May 2008, Comments 0 comments

A professor at the College de France along with an American professor received the world’s top mathematics award, Norway’s Abel Prize worth EUR 766,300.

21 May 2008

OSLO - An American and a French mathematician Tuesday were handed the world's top mathematics award, Norway's Abel Prize, worth more than a million dollars.

King Harald of Norway presented the award shared by John Griggs Thompson, 75, a mathematics professor at Florida University, and Jacques Tits, 77, professor at the College de France in Paris.

The award, created six years ago, seeks to make up for the absence of a Nobel mathematics prize. The Norwegian Academy of Science awarded it this year for distinguished work by the two mathematicians in developing modern group theory.

Yale graduate John Griggs Thompson took a doctorate from the University of Chicago and went on to teach at Cambridge University in England before taking up his present post in Florida.

The two will share six million Norwegian Kroner, the equivalent of almost
USD 1.2 million or EUR 766,300.

The prize was created by the Norwegian government in 2002 to celebrate the bicentenary of the birth of the Norwegian mathematician Niels Henrik Abel (1802-1829).

Group theory helps to explain the secrets of Rubik's cube, a puzzle used in schools and universities that can help to explain complex particle physics and mathematical algorithms.

Hungarian Erno Rubik invented the Cube in 1974 while seeking a working model to help explain three-dimensional geometry.

[AFP / Expatica]

0 Comments To This Article