France's new government

14th November 2010, Comments 0 comments

President Nicolas Sarkozy named a new cabinet Sunday after a reshuffle that marked a distinct shift to the right and saw the departure of several major centrist and left-wing figures.

The following is a list of members of the new government.

Prime Minister: Francois Fillon

Defence: Alain Juppe

Foreign Affairs: Michele Alliot-Marie

Environment and Transport: Nathalie Kosciusko-Morizet

Justice: Michel Mercier

Interior: Brice Hortefeux

Finance and the Economy: Christine Lagarde

Labour, Employment and Health: Xavier Bertrand

Education and Youth: Luc Chatel

Budget, Civil Service and Government: Francois Baroin

Research and Higher Education: Valerie Pecresse

Agriculture, Food, Fisheries and Land Management: Bruno Le Maire

Culture and Communications: Frederic Mitterrand

Solidarity and Social Cohesion: Roselyne Bachelot-Narquin

Urban Development: Maurice Leroy

Sports: Chantal Jouanno

Parliamentary Relations (Prime Minister's Office): Patrick Ollier

Energy and Industry (Finance Ministry): Eric Besson

International Development (Foreign Ministry): Henri de Raincourt

Local Government (Interior Ministry): Philippe Richert

European Affairs (Foreign Ministry): Laurent Wauquiez

Apprenticeships and Training (Labour Ministry): Nadine Morano

Overseas Ministry (Interior Ministry): Marie-Luce Penchard

Foreign Trade (Finance Ministry): Pierre Lellouche

Health (Labour and Health Ministry): Nora Berra

Housing (Environment Ministry): Benoist Apparu

Civil Service (Budget and Government Ministry): Georges Tron

Social Cohesion (Solidarity and Social Cohesion): Marie-Anne Montchamp

Transport (Environment Ministry): Thierry Mariani

Small businesses and Tourism (Finance Ministry): Frederic Lefebvre

Youth and Associations (Education Ministry): Jeannette Bougrab

© 2010 AFP

0 Comments To This Article