17 caves in Spain declared World Heritage Sites

9th July 2008, Comments 0 comments

The caves located in Cantabria, Asturias and the Basque Country have been added to the UNESCO list of world heritage sites.

9 July 2008

MADRID - Seventeen caves in the north of Spain have been declared World Heritage Sites by UNESCO.

The caves, all located in Cantabria, Asturias and the Basque Country, were described as "the apogee of Paleolithic cave art" by the organisation on Monday.

The new additions will be considered an extension to Cantabria's Altamira Cave, which made the UNESCO list in 1985 and contains well-preserved examples of Upper Paleolithic cave paintings.

[El Pais / Expatica]

We invite you to contribute to this article by sending related photos or videos. You can either send them to photos@expatica.com or add them to our newly-created flickr group at http://www.flickr.com/people/expatica/. All contributed material will be credited accordingly.

0 Comments To This Article