Winners of the Berlin film fest's Golden Bear since 1996

20th February 2016, Comments 0 comments

The Golden Bear prize for best picture will be awarded Saturday at the 66th Berlin film festival by a jury led by three-time Oscar winner Meryl Streep.

Here are the winners since 1996 of the Golden Bear at the event, one of the world's top cinema showcases and the first major European film festival of the year.

- 1996: "Sense and Sensibility" by Ang Lee (US)

- 1997: "The People vs. Larry Flint" by Milos Forman (US)

- 1998: "Central do Brasil" (Central Station) by Walter Salles (Brazil)

- 1999: "The Thin Red Line" by Terrence Malick (US)

- 2000: "Magnolia" by Paul Thomas Anderson (US)

- 2001: "Intimacy" by Patrice Chereau (France)

- 2002: "Bloody Sunday" by Paul Greengrass (Britain/Ireland) and "Sen To Chihiro No Kamikakushi" (Spirited Away) by Hayao Miyazaki (Japan)

- 2003: "In This World" by Michael Winterbottom (Britain)

- 2004: "Gegen die Wand" (Head-On) by Fatih Akin (Germany/Turkey)

- 2005: "U-Carmen eKhayelitsha" (Carmen In Khayelitsha) by Mark Dornford-May (South Africa)

- 2006: "Grbavica" by Jasmila Zbanic (Bosnia-Hercegovina)

- 2007: "Tuya De Hunshi" (Tuya's Marriage) by Wang Quan'an (China)

- 2008: "Tropa de Elite" (Elite Squad) by Jose Padilha (Brazil/Argentina)

- 2009: "La teta asustada" (The Milk of Sorrow) by Claudia Llosa (Spain/Peru)

- 2010: "Bal" (Honey) by Semih Kaplanoglu (Turkey/Germany)

- 2011: "Jodaeiye Nader Az Simin" (A Separation) by Asghar Farhadi (Iran)

- 2012: "Cesare deve morire" (Caesar Must Die) by Paolo and Vittorio Taviani (Italy)

- 2013: "Pozitia Copilului" (Child's Pose) by Calin Peter Netzer (Romania)

- 2014: "Bai Ri Yan Huo" (Black Coal, Thin Ice), Diao Yinan (China)

- 2015: "Taxi", Jafar Panahi (Iran)

© 2016 AFP

0 Comments To This Article