Berlinale unveils list of jury members

29th January 2008, Comments 0 comments

Leading members of the European, Asian, American and Russian film industries have been selected as members of the international jury for the Berlin Film Festival, Berlinale organizers announce.

29th January 2008

Berlin (dpa)- The jury, which is to be headed up by renowned Greek-born director Costa-Gavras, includes leading Taiwanese actor Shu-Qi and American film editor Walter Murch as well as Alexander Rodniansky, who is one of Russia's leading film and TV producers.

Also joining the Berlinale jury is Danish director Susanne Bier, production designer Uli Hanisch, French actor Sandrine Bonnaire and German actor Diane Kruger, who in recent years has achieved growing fame through a series of international movies.

This includes Wolfgang Petersen's Troy, Bille August's Goodbye Bafana and more recently National Treasure: Book Of Secrets.

Based in France, Costa-Gavras is considered a master of political thrillers, with his 1969 movie Z about the assassination of a prominent Greek leftist politician winning him an Oscar for best foreign language film.

In awarding the Berlinale's top prizes, Costa-Gavras and his jury will have to select from a total of 21 films running in the main competition.

Now in its 58th year, the Berlinale has emerged as one the world's top three film festivals.


0 Comments To This Article