Public holidays in Germany and important German holidays 2019

Public holidays in Germany and important German holidays 2019

Home About Germany Culture & History Public holidays in Germany and important German holidays 2019
Last update on January 07, 2019

Here is a list of holidays in Germany 2019, including German national holidays and regional holidays in Germany, daylight savings, school holidays, Mother’s and Father’s Days and other important German holidays.

Whether you’re living in Germany or just visiting, it’s important to be aware of German national holidays and other important German holidays as most businesses typically close.

There are nine official public holidays in Germany that are celebrated nationally each year, alongside regional holidays that are only celebrated in certain German states. This means that some German states have more German holidays than others; lucky citizens can enjoy up to 13 days of German public holidays a year, one of the highest public holiday entitlements in Europe.

Many of the German bank holidays are religious and date back centuries. A more recent holiday in Germany is the Day of German Unity celebrated on 3 October, which commemorates the anniversary of German reunification in 1990. You can see which national holidays in Germany coincide with Germany’s top festivals, which are a great way to experience German culture and sample regional German food, particularly during the colourful carnival in Germany.

Besides German Unity Day, holidays in Germany are determined by the federal states. If a German holiday falls on a weekend, the German national holiday is not typically transferred to a weekday. Many businesses – but not police stations or hospitals – close during national holidays in German and regional public holidays.

Official public holidays in Germany 2019

(N) = National (R) = Regional

  • Tuesday, 1 January: New Year’s Day (Neujahrstag) (N)
  • Sunday, 6 January: Epiphany (Heilige Drei Könige) (R) – Baden-Württemberg, Bavaria, Saxony-Anhalt
  • Friday, 19 April: Good Friday (Karfreitag) (N)
  • Monday, 22 April: Easter Monday (Ostermontag) (N)
  • Wednesday, 1 May: Labour Day (Maifeiertag) (N)
  • Thursday, 30 May: Ascension Day (Christi Himmelfahrt, 40 days after Easter) (N)
  • Monday, 10 June: Whit Monday (Pfingstmontag) (N) – seventh Monday after Easter, also called Pentecost Monday.
  • Thursday, 20 June: Corpus Christi (Fronleichnam) (R) – Baden-Württemberg, Bavaria, Hesse, North Rhine-Westphalia, Rhineland-Palatinate, Saarland, and some local authorities in Saxony and Thuringia.
  • Thursday, 8 August: Peace Festival (Freidenfest) (R) – Bavaria (Augsburg)
  • Thursday, 15 August: Assumption Day (Maria Himmelfahrt) (R) – Saarland and some local authorities in Bavaria.
  • Thursday, 3 October: Day of German Unity (Tag der Deutschen Einheit) (N)
  • Thursday, 31 October: Reformation Day (Reformationstag) (N) – celebrated as a German national holiday in 2017 to celebrate the 500th anniversary, although typically it is a regional holiday in Brandenburg, Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania, Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt and parts of Thuringia.
  • Friday, 1 November: All Saints’ Day (Allerheiligen) (R) – Baden-Württemberg, Bavaria, North Rhine-Westphalia, Rhineland-Palatinate and Saarland.
  • Wednesday, 20 November: Day of Prayer and Repentance (Buß-und Bettag, Wednesday before 23 November) (R) – Saxony.
  • Wednesday, 25 December: Christmas Day (Weihnachtstag) (N)
  • Thursday, 26 December: Boxing Day/St Stephen’s Day (Stephanstag) (N) – also known as the second day of Christmas.

German holidays: holidays in Germany

Important dates and German holidays 

  • Monday, 4 March: Shrove Monday
  • Tuesday, 5 March: Shrove Tuesday/Carnival
  • Wednesday, 6 March: Ash Wednesday/Carnival
  • Sunday, 31 March: Daylight saving time (DST) starts – clocks go forward one hour.
  • Sunday, 12 May: Mother’s Day (second Sunday of May)
  • Thursday, 23 May: Constitution Day
  • Thursday, 30 May: Father’s Day (Vatertag, also known as Männertag, Men’s Day, or Herrentag) – coincides with Ascension Day and can be a family celebration or even celebrated by an outing with male friends.
  • Sunday, 8 September: European Heritage Days – when monument buildings are opened to the public.
  • Saturday, 14 September: German Language Day
  • Saturday, 21 September: Oktoberfest starts
  • Sunday, 27 October: Daylight saving time (DST) ends – clocks go back one hour.
  • Saturday, 9 November: Fall of the Berlin wall
  • Monday, 11 November: St Martin’s Day – a religious observance where children take part in lantern processions.
  • Sunday, 17 November: National Day of Mourning – victims of war are remembered and in some regions music or dance events are prohibited.
  • Friday, 6 December: St Nicholas Day
  • Friday, 21 June and Saturday, 21 December: Solstices – longest and shortest days of the year

German school holidays

Each Federal state sets its own German school holidays calendar. You can find information on school holidays for each of the states here. Also see our guide to school holidays in Germany.