Eric Van de Poele pulls off record-breaking fifth victory

4th August 2008, Comments 0 comments

Belgian race pilot Eric Van de Poele’s fifth victory on 24 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps on Sunday makes him a record-holder.

4 August 2008

BELGIUM - Belgian race pilot Eric Van de Poele collected the 24 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps victory on Sunday for the fifth time, making him an absolute record-holder.

Until Sunday, the Maserati pilot shared the record with Thierry Tassin and Jean-Michel Martin for being fourth-time winners.  

The 46-year-old won the race driving a BMW in 1987 and 1988, and in 2005 and 2006 with his current team Maserati.

Together with his team mates, the Italian Andrea Bertolini, German racer Michael Bartels and Frenchman Stéphane Sarrazin, Van de Poele drove his Maserati MC12 577 times along the circuit.

The Vitaphone racing team had double reasons for celebrating as the second Maserati in the race, driven by the Belgian Stéphane Lémeret, came in second.

The third place in this year’s 60th edition went to the Austrian driver Philipp Peter and his Aston Martin DB9.

[ / Expatica]

0 Comments To This Article