Listing of banking institutions in South Africa

Listing of banking institutions in South Africa

Comments0 comments

Here's a listing of banking institutions in South Africa, including the monetary authority, locally controlled banks, branches of foreign banks and banking-related organisations.

Monetary authority
South African Reserve Bank
www.reservebank.co.za

Locally controlled banks
(registered in terms of the Banks Act)
Absa Bank Ltd - now a foreign controlled bank, see below www.absa.co.za
African Bank Ltdwww.africanbank.co.za
BoE Private Clients (a division of Nedbank) www.boeprivateclients.co.za
Bidvest Bank Limited www.bidvest.co.za
Capitec Bank Ltd www.capitecbank.co.za
Fairbairn Private Bank (a division of Nedbank)www.fairbairnpb.com
FirstRand Bank Ltdwww.firstrand.co.za
First National Bank (a division of FirstRand Bank) www.fnb.co.za
Imperial Bank Ltd (a subsidiary of the Nedbank Group) www.imperialbank.co.za
Investec Bank Ltd www.investec.com
Marriott Corporate Property Bank Ltd. (a subsidiary of Marriott Holdings Ltd.) www.marriott.co.za
MEEG Bank Ltd www.meegbank.co.za
Nedbank Group Ltdwww.nedbankgroup.com
Nedbank (a division of the Nedbank Group) www.nedbankgroup.com
Old Mutual Bank (a division of Nedbank)www.oldmutual.co.za/ombank
Go Banking (a division of Nedbank in association with Pick 'n Pay) www.gobanking.co.za
Rand Merchant Bank (a division of FirstRand Bank) www.rmb.co.za
Rennies Bank Ltd (now a division of Bidvest Bank) www.bidvest.co.za
RMB Private Bank (a division of FirstRand Bank) www.rmbprivatebank.co.za
Sasfin Bank Ltd www.sasfin.co.za
Standard Bank of SA Ltd, Thewww.standardbank.co.za
TEBA Bank Ltd www.tebabank.co.za
Wesbank (a division of FirstRand Bank) www.wesbank.co.za

Foreign controlled banks

(registered in terms of the Banks Act)
Absa Bank Ltd (a member of Barclays Bank Group) www.absa.co.za
Albaraka Bank Limited www.albaraka.co.za
Habib Overseas Bank Limited www.habibbank.com
HBZ Bank Limited (a subsidiary of  Habib Bank) www.hbzbank.co.za
Mercantile Bank Limited www.mercantile.co.za
South African Bank of Athens Limited, The www.bankofathens.co.za

Branches of foreign banks
(registered in terms of the Banks Act)
ABN AMRO Bank N.V. www.abnamro.com
Bank of Baroda www.bankofbaroda.com
Bank of China, Johannesburg Branch www.bank-of-china.com
Bank of Taiwan, SA Branch www.bot.com.tw/english
Barclays Bank plc (now incorporated into Absa Bank) www.barclays.com
Calyon Corporate and Investment Bank SA www.calyon.com
China Construction Bank, Johannesburg Branch www.ccbjhb.com
Citibank N.A. www.citibank.co.za
Commerzbank Aktiengesellschaft www.commerzbank.com
Deutsche Bank AGwww.db.com
HSBC Bank plc, Johannesburg Branch www.hsbc.com
JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A., Johannesburg Branch www.jpmorgan.com
Société Générale, Johannesburg Branch www.socgen.com
Standard Chartered Bank, Johannesburg Branch www.standardchartered.com
State Bank of India www.statebank.co.za

Mutual banks
(registered in terms of the Mutual Banks Act)
GBS Mutual Bank www.gbsbank.co.za
VBS Mutual Bank www.vbsmutualbank.co.za

Other banks
Development Bank of Southern Africa www.dbsa.org
Land and Agricultural Development Bank of South Africa www.landbank.co.za
Postbank www.sapo.co.za

Savings and credit co-operatives (SACCOs)
See The Savings and Credit Cooperative League of SA (SACCOL) www.saccol.org.za

Bank related organisations   
Banking Association South Africa
www.banking.org.za
Institute of Bankers in South Africa
www.iob.co.za
BankservAfrica (joint bank utility company)
www.bankservafrica.com
South African Reserve Bank (central bank)
www.resbank.co.za
Sabric, South African Banking Risk Information Centre
www.sabric.co.za
   

 

www.finforum.co.za / Expatica

Comment here on the article, or if you have a suggestion to improve this article, please click here.

If you believe any of the information on this page is incorrect or out-of-date, please let us know. Expatica makes every effort to ensure its articles are as comprehensive, accurate and up-to-date as possible, but we're also grateful for any help! (If you want to contact Expatica for any other reason, please follow the instructions on this website's contact page.)


Captcha Note: Characters are case sensitive
The details you provide on this page will not be used to send any unsolicited e-mail, and will not be sold to a third party. Privacy policy .

0 Comments To This Article