Multi-faith calendar: November 2009

30th October 2009, Comments 0 comments

Important dates for different faiths throughout November.

Sunday 1 November

Christian - All Saints' Day
All Saints' Day is when Anglicans and Roman Catholics honour all the saints of the Christian church.

Monday 2 November

Christian - All Souls' Day
All Souls' Day is when Roman Catholic and Anglo-Catholic churches remember and pray for the souls of people who are in Purgatory.

Sikh - Birthday of Guru Nanak

Rastafari - Coronation of Emperor Haile Selassie I
Rastas believe Haile Selassie is God.

Sunday 8 November

Multifaith - Remembrance Sunday
The second Sunday of November people remember those who gave their lives in conflicts.

Wednesday 11 November

Multifaith - Armistice Day
This day celebrates the end of the First World War on the eleventh hour of the eleventh day of the eleventh month in 1918. At 11am everyone in the UK pauses for 2 minutes to remember those who died in these conflicts.

Thursday 12 November

Bahai - Birth of Baha'u'llah
Celebrates the birth in 1817 of the founder of the Baha'i faith.

Sunday 15 November

Shinto - Shichigosan
A festival that gives thanks for children.

Monday 23 November

Shinto - Niinamesei
Thanksgiving Day, a national holiday in Japan - originally a harvest festival.

Tuesday 24 November

Sikh - Martyrdom of Guru Tegh Bahadur

Guru Tegh Bahadur was the ninth Sikh Guru and is honoured as a champion of religious freedom.

Thursday 26 November

Bahai - Day of the Covenant
Celebrates the covenant of Baha'u'llah.

Saturday 28 November

Bahai - Ascension of Abdu'l-Baha
Marks the death of the son of Baha'u'lláh.

Muslim - Eid-Ul-Adha
Festival of Sacrifice is a four day holiday marking the day after Arafat.

Sunday 29 November

Christian - Advent Sunday
Advent is the season before Christmas.

Monday 30 November

Christian - St Andrew's Day
Saint Andrew is the patron saint of Scotland, Greece and Russia.


Headline photo by squeakymarmot (Flickr)

0 Comments To This Article