PSV wins 4th straight Dutch league title

21st April 2008, Comments 0 comments

Despite scoring one goal against Vitesse Arnhem, PSV emerged the champions and finished three points ahead of Ajax.

21 April 2008

AMSTERDAM - PSV Eindhoven won its fourth straight Dutch league title on Sunday by beating Vitesse Arnhem 1-0.

Jefferson Farfan set up Danko Lazovic for the game's only goal in the 46th to give PSV its 21st Eredivisie title - eight fewer than Ajax, which finished second in the standings despite beating Heracles Almelo 5-1.

"This is unbelievable," Lazovic said. "We were expecting anything. Now what matters is the fact that we are champions."

PSV, which earned a spot in the group stage of next season's Champions League, finished with 72 points, three ahead of Ajax.

Ajax, along with NAC Breda (63), FC Twente (62) and SC Heerenveen (60), meet in playoffs to decide who gets the Netherlands' remaining Champions League berth.

At Amsterdam, Ajax took the lead in the fourth minute through Luis Suarez, and Kenneth Perez doubled the lead in the 18th after he was set up by Suarez. Klaas Jan Huntelaar made it 3-0 in the 29th with his 33rd goal of the season.

Perez and John Heitinga added second half goals for Ajax. Ragnar Klavan got Heracles' goal in the 55th.

Also Sunday, Excelsior Rotterdam was relegated after losing 5-0 at Heerenveen.

Feyenoord stayed out of contention for a Champions League spot despite a 3-0 win over Roda JC. Instead, the Rotterdam side will feature in another playoff series, hoping to clinch three of the available UEFA Cup spots.

Luigi Bruins, Nuri Sahin and Michael Mols scored for Feyenoord.
Also Sunday, it was: AZ Alkmaar 1, Sparta Rotterdam 0; FC Utrecht 1, FC Groningen 0; NAC Breda 1, NEC Nijmegen 3; and FC Twente 2, Willem II 0.

[AP / Expatica]

0 Comments To This Article